Physicist Rajesh Gopakumar selected for G D Birla Award 2013

  1. Physicist Rajesh Gopakumar was selected for the 23rd G D Birla Award for scientific research for the year 2013. It was announced by the K K Birla Foundation. Gopakumar has been awarded for his important contributions on topics in Quantum Field Theory and String Theory.
  2. Gujarat has been ranked number one in a list of India’s 20 largest states in terms of “economic freedom”. The index on “economic freedom” takes into account governance, growth, citizens’ rights, and labour and business regulations.
  3. Big Hoss, the World largest TV, was unveiled for the first time at the Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, US. Big Hoss was recorded as world largest TV in the Guinness Book of World Records. The screen is of 218 feet wide by 94.6 feet tall that means it is taller than a seven story building and longer than Boeing’s biggest 767 flight.
  4. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav laid the foundation stone of a project to build a 70-storey temple in Vrindavan – Vrindavan Chandrodaya Mandir — which, when finished, is billed to be the tallest shrine in the world.
  5. e-Commerce firm & online travel company ibiboGroup announced to acquire Bangalore-based startup to strengthen the offers in the bus travel space. The companies did not disclose the value of the deal.
  6. The Government of India divested its 9 percent stake in Axis Bank. The divestment resulted into generation of 5500 crore rupees. Axis Bank is the third largest private sector bank of India in which Government of India holds 20.7 percent share by assets.
  7. Ukraine signed the long-awaited Association Agreement with the European Union (EU) in Brussels. The Agreement was signed between Ukrainian Interim Prime Minister Arseny Yatseniuk, EU President Herman Van Rompuy on the sidelines of an EU summit in Brussels.
  8. UN Security Council (UNSC) unanimously voted in favor of a resolution 2146 (2014) that condemns the illegal (illicit) export of Libyan crude oils. The Security Council also imposed sanctions on vessels carrying illicit oil shipments.
  9. Australian tennis player Bernard Tomic lost the shortest match in Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) history at the Sony Open within just 28 minutes and 20 seconds. Bernard Tomic score to a 6-0, 6-1 defeat at the hands of Finnish Jarkko Nieminen.
  10. Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg of Germany won the Australian Grand Prix. Rosberg dominated the Australian Grand Prix to claim the fourth F1 victory of his career and the first in the new turbo-powered era.
About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s