Vishwanath Tripathi is Awarded by Vyas Samman 2013

  1. Vishwanath Tripathi, the eminent Hindi writer has been selected for the prestigious Vyas Samman for the year 2013. He has been chosen for his memoir ‘Vyomkesh Darvesh‘ that is a biography of the noted Hindi scholar Acharya Hazari Prasad Dwivedi.
  2. Arunima Sinha received Amazing Indian Award. The award was given by the Vice President of India, M Hamid Ansari. She was awarded for scaling Mount Everest despite being physically challenged.
  3. The government gave a fresh two years of term to Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) chairman U K Sinha, making him the first market regulator in recent years to be given five years at the helm.
  4. Iconic devotional singer Jhuthika Roy, whose fans included Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Neharu and Sarojani Naidu died at City Hospital, Kolkata. She was 94.
  5. The Home Ministry has set up a panel under retired IAS Officer MP Bezbaruah to took into concerns of people from North Eastern living and working in other parts of the country.
  6. ICICI Bank, India’s largest private sector bank has joined hands with the Kolkata State Finance Department to offer a payment gateway for state taxes. The new initiative will help the state government to collect taxes from all ICICI bank branches as well as through internet banking.
  7. UK Based Vodafone secured a Cabinet approval to buy out minority share holders in its Indian arm for 10,141 crore rupees – the single largest foreign investment in the county’s telecom sector.
  8. Union Ministry of Culture and Tate signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to develop collaborations focused on modern and contemporary art. Pramod Jain, the Joint Secretary of Ministry of Culture and Judith Nesbitt, Head of International Partnerships, Tate signed the agreement.
  9. Delhi golfer Vani Kapoor won her second consecutive title on Hero Women’s’ Professional Tour 2014 by winning the second leg at the Tollygung Club Course, Kolkata.
  10. Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne were confirmed to lead for a limited-over match to mark the 200th anniversary of Lords Cricket Ground. Tendulkar will lead the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the owners of the Lords Cricket ground, while Warne will head a ‘Rest of the World’ side. The match will be held at Lords Cricket Ground on 5 July 2014.