Poonam Khetrapal Singh : Regional Director of World Health Organisation (WHO) South-East Asia Region

  1. Poonam Khetrapal Singh took charge as the Regional Director of World Health Organisation (WHO) South-East Asia Region. She is the first Indian in 44 years to hold the post of Regional Director, South East Asian Regional Organistion (SEARO). India had occupied the post from 1948-1968.
  2. Manoj Vaish took charge as the Managing Director (MD) and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Multi Commodity Exchange of India Ltd. (MCX). Forward Markets Commission (FMC) the commodity markets regulator approved the appointment of Vaish. His appointment is for a period of three years.
  3. President of India, Pranab Mukherjee launched the National Mission on Libraries (NML). The mission was launched by Union Ministry of Culture.
  4. Former Supreme Court Justice, Ashok Kumar Mathur was appointed as the Chairman of the 7th Pay Commission. Vivek Rae, the Petroleum and Natural Gas Secretary will be the full time member director.
  5. President of Zanzibar, Dr. Ali Mohamed Shein is on an official visit to India from 1 to 9 February 2014. He visited India on the invitation of Vice President of India, Hamid Ansari.
  6. Nathpa Jhakri Hydro Power Station awarded a gold shield for its meritorious performance in 2013-14. Nathpa Hydro power Station consecutively third time received the award.
  7. India and Nepal amended a bilateral transit treaty. The amendment to the export procedure in the Memorandum to the Protocol to the Treaty of Transit of 1999 will facilitate the transit of goods of third country origin exported from Nepal.
  8. Disney‘s ‘Frozen‘ won five trophies including the coveted best animated feature at the 41st annual Annie Awards.
  9. Silverine Swer, the first Padma Shri awardee of Meghalaya died at her residence at Riatsamthiah. She was of 103 years in age. She received the Padma Shri award in 1990 from the then President of India, R. Venkararaman. She was also the oldest voter from Meghalaya.
  10. Joshna Chinappa beat Egypt‘s Heba El Torky in a hard-fought final in Winnipeg (Canada) to lift her maiden WSA World Tour title.